The day things shifted

It’s a bittersweet day for me, personally. It was Oct. 25, 2016, that the corporation told me my days as editor of the Door County Advocate were over, effective immediately. Here’s what I wrote about that the next day.

Of course, it was not the end of my days sharing the stories of this wonderful corner of the universe, and I started turning my attention to Kewaunee County news a month later. Here’s a little bit of those whys and wherefores.

KewauneeComet.com is my little effort to keep community journalism alive here. I admit I feel a little more angry these days, not for me personally but for the communities that once were served by the Algoma Record-Herald, Kewaunee Enterprise, Luxemburg News, Denmark Press, De Pere Journal and other casualties of the last 13 years. For the people who founded those publications, the news was about the community, not the bucks. I’m glad to be away from that mentality and doing my little bit to keep the light shining.

Published by

WarrenBluhm

Wordsmith, journalist and podcaster, Warren is a reporter, editor and storyteller who lives near the shores of Green Bay with his wife, two golden retrievers, and a couple of cats.