Paranoia strikes deep

I went to the basement to empty the dehumidifier and saw my recently reassembled stereo system there. I pulled a record off the shelf, set it on the turntable, and played Judy Collins’ classic recording of “Both Sides Now” while I did my little chore.

The Smart TV sat quietly on the other side of the room.

Three hours later, I picked up my smart phone and turned to Google to look something up. Under the search bar was a link:

Watch the Tallest Man on Earth Cover Joni Mitchell’s ‘Both Sides, Now

Coincidence? I think not. Somehow the device knew that particular song was on my mind.

Our electronic toys see us when we’re sleeping, and they know when we’re awake. I’m pretty sure they know when we’ve been bad or good, so …

 

Published by

WarrenBluhm

Wordsmith, journalist and podcaster, Warren is a reporter, editor and storyteller who lives near the shores of Green Bay with his wife, two golden retrievers, and a couple of cats.

2 thoughts on “Paranoia strikes deep”

  1. Anyone that has and uses a ‘smart phone’ a ‘smart TV’ and uses Google is just askin fer it.
    Then, to be surprised by this is…….

    Like

Comments are closed.