O, give me a beer

Leinenkugel's Anniversary Lager

A couple of months ago or so, Leinenkugel Brewing Co. introduced something called Anniversary Lager. Just the concept is interesting: This is the 150th anniversary of Leinenkugel’s. It’s also the 400th anniversary of Hofbräu München.

“This special beer combines the best of both breweries,” the box says. “Brewed in the spirit of Reinheitsgebot (purity law), this German-style amber lager is brewed with some imported German malts and all-American hops to create a beer that is flavorful, balanced and refreshing.”

Rarely does a product live up to the copy hype, but Leinenkugel’s Anniversary Lager is indeed flavorful, balanced and refreshing. It’s been my go-to adult beverage all summer. Of course, all bets come off every Aug. 1.

Leinenkugel’s Oktoberfest is an annual tradition for me. Two or three years ago I realized that it appears on the shelves on Aug. 1 every year. I posted this photo on Facebook with the caption, “Yep, it’s really August again! Here’s the proof.”

Leinenkugel's Oktoberfest

I got a handful of comments about “Oh, no, October, noooo!!!!” from people who didn’t get the point. I wasn’t making fun of the release date two months before October; I was celebrating Aug. 1 the way I always do now – by seeking out the new release at the beer store.

This Märzen style beer is a smooth, malty treat that goes down easy and comfortable. From now until somewhere around mid-November, this will be the taste that soothes me after a day’s work (or at least once I finish my stash of Anniversary Lager). I love my Yuengling when I have the opportunity to quaff it, but Leinenkugel’s Oktoberfest is my best old late summer/early fall friend. Yum!

Between these two, it’s been a Leinenkugel’s year for me. They get a lot of mileage out of their Honey Weiss and summer shandies, but you can have those. I’ll take these great German-style beers every time.

Published by

WarrenBluhm

Wordsmith, journalist and podcaster, Warren is a reporter, editor and storyteller who lives near the shores of Green Bay with his wife, two golden retrievers, and a couple of cats.