W.B. at the movies, at random

Random thoughts while watching Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2, for the first time in a theater audience of 5 including the two of us, nearly two months after its debut:

+ The trailers for upcoming films Thor: Ragnarok and Star Wars: The Last Jedi are much more impressive on the big screen with massive sound than on the standard YouTube screen. (Yeah, I know: Duh.) Also, the trailer for Dunkirk did not make me want to see the film; rather, the opposite. It seems to me the audience for Guardians of the Galaxy may not be the audience for a film heavy on hopelessness, despair, and real-life pain and suffering. Or maybe it’s just me.

+ The new Marvel Studios production logo at the beginning of the film uses movie clips instead of a flutter of pages from old comic books – perhaps an appropriate acknowledgment that superheroes are creatures of cinema more than paper anymore, but it made me sad; perhaps nostalgic is a better word.

+ The original Marvel universe was built around Fantastic Four, Spider-Man and everybody else. Later it was the reimagined X-Men and everybody else. The Marvel Cinematic Universe (it’s capitalized now) have made it Iron Man and Captain America and everybody else. To me the real home runs are being hit in the films about lower-profile characters – the Guardians, Dr. Strange, Ant-Man.

+ By the way, I loved the film.

+ The jaw-dropping geek moment in the closing credits for me – “I think I’ll name him Adam” – rivaled Samuel Jackson’s immortal appearance after Iron Man: “I’d like to talk to you about the Avenger Initiative.”

+ It has been a true trip these last 18 years or so, starting with X-Men, to see the four-color heroes of my childhood transformed with such care to the silver screen. It’s like a validation – See? I told you these stories were cool.

Published by

WarrenBluhm

Wordsmith, journalist and podcaster, Warren is a reporter, editor and storyteller who lives near the shores of Green Bay with his wife, two golden retrievers, and a couple of cats.

3 thoughts on “W.B. at the movies, at random”

Comments are closed.