You can’t take the sky from me


It’s a short song with a huge message – the perfect theme for the story of a freedom-loving rebel whose “side” lost the war but continues to live free, as hard as that is.

And living free is hard. It can mean rejecting the comforts of civilization in favor of buying an old heap of a space truck, finding someone who can keep it running, and traveling about looking for dirty jobs that most reasonable people might not take.

You can take my life, take my land – but no matter how hard you try, you can’t crush my spirit, the song says.

You can’t take the sky from me. You can’t force me to stop dreaming. You can’t. You just can’t.

Published by

WarrenBluhm

Wordsmith, journalist and podcaster, Warren is a reporter, editor and storyteller who lives near the shores of Green Bay with his wife, two golden retrievers, and a couple of cats.