This one life in a glass

kool-aid

“There’s gotta be more to life than this, right?” the old man said as he cradled the glass between his hands.

“What do you mean?” his companion asked.

“I mean just that: There’s gotta be more to life than this. A guy’s life has to mean something – something special, something different from anyone else, something like nobody’s ever seen before and nobody will ever see again, because you only live have this one life and you have to leave your mark that says, ‘Hey! It’s me! I made this! This is who I am!’ and when I’m gone, ‘This is who I was so people will remember!’ Don’t you think?”

His companion narrowed his eyes and lifted his glass.

“Shut up and drink your Kool-Aid.”

Published by

WarrenBluhm

Wordsmith, journalist and podcaster, Warren is a reporter, editor and storyteller who lives near the shores of Green Bay with his wife, two golden retrievers, and a couple of cats.